Hello! My name is



Age: ~1 year, 8 months
Gender: Male
Weight: ~120 lbs.
Breed: Big Boi (Shep X)
Energy: 8/10


Dog Friendly: No
Cat Friendly: No
Kid Friendly: Older kids recommended

Rescue Story

Preston came into GEARS’ as a wee pup of 8-10 weeks and after spending time in the same foster home, is now ready to find his forever home!

My Bio

Hi, I’m Preston… but my foster momma calls me Karl!  I’m a big boi that loves to play hard and nap harder. My foster mom says that I am a very good boy. I like to paw at my people and don’t always have the greatest aim. Jumping is fun too, though I’m learning this isn’t something I should do. I get very excited around new people and need time to settle into new environments. I’d really like to find a forever family that is experienced with an anxious dog, and do some training together!

I LOVE car rides, and if allowed, I would go everywhere my foster mom goes. I work a lot on my commands like sit, lay down and shake a paw.

I’m house trained and crate trained. I like my crate as it’s my safe place and I will go in my crate to relax when I need a break from household commotion. Over the past few months, my foster mom has allowed me to not be in my crate when she leaves. I have been such a good boy, and I know she watches me on camera so I am always on my best behaviour. I never chew on anything except my bones and toys.

I’m usually a very quiet boy, but get very vocal and anxious when I see other dogs on walksWe never approach other dogs, and we just change the direction of our walk. I have a big backyard and love to spend time in my pool. I will bark in the yard if I hear noises I am not familiar with but the majority of the time I just play with my toys and take in my surroundings.

I’m not comfortable with other dogs but I get along very well with my foster dog sister as I have known her since I was a puppy, so she is my best friend😊.

I was wondering if you will be my forever best human friend?

Love, Preston (aka Karl)🤎💛

Behaviour note: Preston is an anxious dog who will require patience in his forever home. He also tends to jump up and paw and can get “mouthy” when excited. He is prone to ear infections so his floppy ears will need to be dried when it’s raining or humid and he will need to be on Orijen 6 Fish Food. Preston will also need to be on anxiety meds (fluoxetine).


Please review our adoption process first!

Share this post!


Facebook sees our adoptables first!


GEARS is always looking for more temporary or long-term foster homes!


I know you're not ready to adopt, but I could really use a home right now.

And GEARS will cover all my veterinary costs, food and supplies!

We've got a full house!

Our foster home applications are currently on hold.

Please check back later or follow us on Facebook for updates!


Dog shirt size chart

softstyle racerback tank

softstyle t-shirt

We can issue tax receipts for cash donations equal or greater than $20! Our charity number is 822791430RR0001.

Ways to donate

By cheque:
P.O. Box 69013 Skyview
Edmonton, AB
T6V 1G7

The ATB Cares program matches donations by 15% and will issue a tax receipt on our behalf! Click here to donate through ATB Cares!