Hello! My name is



Age: 2.5 Years Old Gender: Female Weight: 70lbs Breed: Shepherd Cross Energy Level: 10 out of 10


Dog Friendly: Yes
Cat Friendly: Unknown
Kid Friendly: No

Rescue Story

Idalee originally came into care as a puppy from our outreach community and was adopted to a loving family. She is coming back to GEARS through no fault of her own to find her forever family

My Bio

Hello, I’m Idalee and I’m so happy you want to meet me – don’t let my nervous nature fool you, because I really do want to meet my best friend forever! Sometimes those friends come in different shapes and sizes, and there’s certain shapes and sizes I’m still a little hesitant over. I’m very fearful of those people referred to as “husbands”, “brothers”, “nephews”, or “sons” – I don’t like to discriminate, but sometimes I just can’t help to be more in favour of the recent girl power movements I see all over the Internet these days and I hope you’ll forgive me for that. I came to my current home to help with a little person’s anxiety, but after some time, I realized I have a lot of anxieties of my own. There’s a lot of things I’m not sure of, like sudden movements that startle me and make me feel defensive. I’ve been known to nip my humans if they scare me – I really don’t mean to, and I’m working on learning the power of trust.

I’m also not very sure of situations that impede on my freedom. I’m told that everything I need is right here in my own yard, so I’m trying to learn to be satisfied with the comfort of a good home – I really do know that the love I receive is worth it, I just need to let my guard down! It may sound like I have a lot of baggage, but I insist that I am not always so unsure. In fact, there are plenty of things I AM sure of. I am sure that a good amount of exercise helps ease my anxiety a great deal; currently, I go to doggy daycare 4 days a week, but I would love to go more often or have a home that really wants a great running partner.

I also am sure that I’d love to have a canine friend or two to keep me company in that back yard I’m learning to enjoy and to help burn off some of my anxious energy. I am even surer that I love to learn! I’ve learned all my basic commands and even know how to shake a paw. I would love to learn with a human who is patient to teach me about trust and calmness.

Lastly, I am sure that I love to love! I give an over-abundance of kisses whenever I can! I would love to meet you and see if your home is a perfect fit for my lifestyle! Apply to meet me today.


Please review our adoption process first!

Share this post!

Share on facebook
Facebook 0
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Pinterest 0
Share on email

Join the pack

Stay in the loop with monthly updates on animals available for adoption, training tips, upcoming events and more!


We can issue tax receipts for cash donations equal or greater than $20! Our charity number is 822791430RR0001

Ways to donate

By cheque:
P.O. Box 69013 Skyview
Edmonton, AB
T6V 1G7

The ATB Cares program matches donations by 15% and will issue a tax receipt on our behalf! Click here to donate through ATB Cares!
We will also accept cash or in-kind donations in person at events!

thank you for your support


Dog shirt size chart

softstyle racerback tank

softstyle t-shirt

Stay in the loop

Join our newsletter for monthly updates on upcoming events, new animal intakes, training tips and more!