Hello! My name is

Harry

stats

Age: ~6 months (as of Dec/23)
Gender: Male
Breed: Birdie Boi (DSH)
Energy: 6/10

ABILITIES

Dog Friendly: Yes, with time
Cat Friendly: Yes
Kid Friendly: Yes, with time

Rescue Story

Harry and his siblings were found as stray kittens and brought into GEARS’ care. Now, after time spent in a loving foster home, he is now ready to find his furever home! 

My Bio

Hi! I’m Harry. I am a very shy and timid boy at first, but if you’re patient with me I will grow into the most affectionate and loving boy. My foster moms were surprised that the scaredy cat that they brought home turned into a cuddle bug. Most evenings I can be found begging for cuddles and attention from my moms. My favorite place to lay down at the end of the evening is on my mom’s chest right in front of her face so she can realize that she is ignoring me (hee hee). 

I am an easy little man to care for, as I’m litter trained and I spend most days laying around the house. I do enjoy playing with my toys though, and I really like chasing around the other cats that I live with. I need to go to a home with a friendly older cat who is not aggressive with new cats, so that they can teach me that my new family is friendly, and I can have someone to play with. I like all food… seriously, ALL food. I’ll eat your food if you let me!! 

I have a cute little vocal coo like a bird when I am happy, so I’ll make sure that you know to keep petting me or looking at me. But other than sounding like a bird, I am pretty quiet. 

I like kids eventually, especially older kits who are a bit calmer. I take a while to warm up to toddlers because they are so busy and loud and they scare me. I’ll hide when my foster nephew comes over, and then creep back out when he is distracted watching tv so I can have attention. I have not been around big dogs, but small dogs are not so bad. I just do not know what to do with them at first. More than anything, I can probably be around bigger dogs or kids, as long as I can have some time to learn that they are not so scary. 

I would do well with a family who has a spare room or bathroom that has places to hide, that I could stay in by myself for a few days to a week while I get comfortable with my new surroundings, because big spaces scare me. And so that my new family could come in and just be near me for a bit so I can learn that I am safe, otherwise I’ll hide throughout the house, and they will not be able to find me. A calm, non-aggressive older cat was the secret for my foster moms because I wanted to be near the older cat, but my mom was petting the older cat, so I had to get close to her too. Eventually, after I had watched enough, I learned that these people give good cuddles and now I want all of their attention. I am sure that I will quickly be the same with my new family and I cannot wait to find my forever home. Is that with you?

Love, Harry 👑🧡

READY TO ADOPT ME?

Please review our adoption process first!

Share this post!

Facebook
Twitter
Pinterest
Email

Facebook sees our adoptables first!

NOT QUITE READY TO ADOPT A DOG OR CAT?

GEARS is always looking for more temporary or long-term foster homes!

WAIT!

I know you're not ready to adopt, but I could really use a home right now.

And GEARS will cover all my veterinary costs, food and supplies!

We've got a full house!

Our foster home applications are currently on hold.

Please check back later or follow us on Facebook for updates!

DOG SHIRT SIZE CHART

Dog shirt size chart

softstyle racerback tank

softstyle t-shirt

We can issue tax receipts for cash donations equal or greater than $20! Our charity number is 822791430RR0001.

Ways to donate

By cheque:
P.O. Box 69013 Skyview
Edmonton, AB
T6V 1G7

The ATB Cares program matches donations by 15% and will issue a tax receipt on our behalf! Click here to donate through ATB Cares!
 

THANK YOU FOR YOUR SUPPORT!