Hello! My name is

Denver – on hold for applications


DOB: Oct. 25, 2022
Gender: Male
Weight: ~35 lbs
Breed: Shepherd X
Energy: 6/10


Dog Friendly: Yes
Cat Friendly: Yes
Kid Friendly: Yes

Rescue Story

Denver was part of the ‘D’ litter born in GEARS’ care and is now ready to find his furever home!

My Bio

Hellooooo! I’m Denver. At first you may have noticed my strikingly different eyes… one angel eye and one mischievous eye… that always seems to grab attention of new people and they offer me many compliments & pets 🥰.

I’m a puppy so am still working on my manners, and personal space isn’t my strongest quality, but who wouldn’t want me right in their business all of the time???

I’m very eager to please and I love treats & snuggles. I sure do hope you like doggy kisses ’cause I love giving them.

I play all the time with my big dog foster brother and we love to wrestle and then nap together. Chase is my favourite thing. I will find a stick and try to run from him hoping he will chase and he always does! But somehow he always catches me but that’s part of the fun!

I’m a smart boy and caught on to the house training right away! I will sit by the door when I need to go so please watch for me. I always expect a treat when I come back inside and will sit nicely waiting for one. I’m a grazer when it comes to my food and happy to share bowls with my foster bro! No food aggression here!

When my foster family is away from the house, I like to hang out and rest in my kennel. I prefer the wire crate to those plastic ones as it’s easier to see my surroundings.

I’ve stayed with some cats before and they seem pretty neat. I like to play with all kinds of doggy friends too. If I’m getting overwhelmed, I just let out a bark to let them know I want space.

At my foster home, I’m one lucky boy because I sleep in the bedroom, mostly snuggling on the bed (and I’m a bed hog). But I will also sleep in my kennel or on the dog bed. Some nights I still like to head out for a potty break but you’ll usually hear me pacing by the door.

My foster mom works from home most days so I like having someone to hang out with during the day. Usually you can find me asleep at her feet or sprawled out on the couch… and also it’s my couch now 😉.

I get so excited when my foster kids come home from school!! We love to play and snuggle together!

I do like to try and lead while on leash so I need a little work so that I won’t pull as I get bigger and stronger. Maybe you can help me with that? Running off leash in the woods is the best! So many smells and things to find. I like to venture ahead but come back to check in with my foster momma when I’m called.

My nicknames are Denny, Little Foot & Puppy-Puppy-Puppy, and I come to all of them😊.

I sometimes get car sick when I ride without my foster bro, so maybe I’m just nervous alone? A family with another dog to show me the ropes would be great, but it’s not required. Do you think I’ll make a great addition to your home?? If so please apply for me today!

Love, Denver 💙 



Please review our adoption process first!

Share this post!


Facebook sees our adoptables first!


GEARS is always looking for more temporary or long-term foster homes!


I know you're not ready to adopt, but I could really use a home right now.

And GEARS will cover all my veterinary costs, food and supplies!

We've got a full house!

Our foster home applications are currently on hold.

Please check back later or follow us on Facebook for updates!


Dog shirt size chart

softstyle racerback tank

softstyle t-shirt

We can issue tax receipts for cash donations equal or greater than $20! Our charity number is 822791430RR0001.

Ways to donate

By cheque:
P.O. Box 69013 Skyview
Edmonton, AB
T6V 1G7

The ATB Cares program matches donations by 15% and will issue a tax receipt on our behalf! Click here to donate through ATB Cares!