Hello! My name is



Age: ~3.5 years (as of May 2024)
Gender: Male
Weight: ~ 60 lbs
Breed: Shep X
Energy: 7/10


Dog Friendly: Yes, can be picky
Cat Friendly: Unknown
Kid Friendly: Older kids

Rescue Story

Brickle was born in GEARS’ care and was adopted out. Through no fault of his own, he is back in care and ready to find his furever home!

My Bio

Hello everyone! My name is Brickle, I am very sweet and smart too.  I have very good manners except for when new people walk into my house and then I get a little protective.  I need help working on that so guests don’t get scared off by me. I’ll need slow introductions to new people to make sure it’s a positive experience for me.

I am a very active guy. I absolutely love going with my foster family on walks/runs/x-country skis/skateboard rides/ bike rides/rollerblade rides, and hikes. I’ve even been on a paddle board for a short ride around a lake but I prefer swimming after the ducks. My foster family is working on my recall and heeling which is going well, as I am very food motivated. I have trouble sharing food with another dog and would prefer to just gobble it all up myself.

I love learning new tricks and I have mastered many already. I can “sit”, “lay down”, “come”, “wait/stay”, “shake a paw”, “bow”, “spin”, and “crawl”.  I will do pretty much anything for praise and especially treats! When I come inside my house I have to sit on the mat and wait until my feet are dry.  It’s not so bad and helps avoid the appearance of the mop, which can be a bit scary for me (but is not near as scary as  the monster who eats up all the yummy crumbs on the ground called a “vacuum”. When that comes out, I usually go hide somewhere.)

My foster mom works in her home office and so I am used to someone being home all day.  I like that a lot. I am great company for her and enjoy napping or looking out the window while she works.  I usually get one or two good walks a day and that is my favorite.

I can be shy and even suspicious of new people so sometimes I growl and look a little scary. I am working on that because I really love friends!  I do warm up quickly and did I mention that I love to cuddle?? Even more than that, I absolutely love to play with kids. Running loose in a field with my ball or frisbee is so fun! I even can throw it in the air for myself! Other dogs are exciting to play with too, but I may be picky and take some time to feel comfortable, depending on the dogs.

I was wondering if I could be your good boi forever?


Brickle 🖤

Medical Note: Brickle has a sensitive stomach and has been on GI food, which has helped. He should stay on this type of food going forward.


Please review our adoption process first!

Share this post!


Facebook sees our adoptables first!


GEARS is always looking for more temporary or long-term foster homes!


I know you're not ready to adopt, but I could really use a home right now.

And GEARS will cover all my veterinary costs, food and supplies!

We've got a full house!

Our foster home applications are currently on hold.

Please check back later or follow us on Facebook for updates!


Dog shirt size chart

softstyle racerback tank

softstyle t-shirt

We can issue tax receipts for cash donations equal or greater than $20! Our charity number is 822791430RR0001.

Ways to donate

By cheque:
P.O. Box 69013 Skyview
Edmonton, AB
T6V 1G7

The ATB Cares program matches donations by 15% and will issue a tax receipt on our behalf! Click here to donate through ATB Cares!