Hello! My name is

Apollo

stats

Age: ~5 months (as of May/24)
Gender: Male
Weight: ~42 lbs (as of Apr/24) and growing!
Breed: Expert Foodie (Shepherd X)
Energy: 7/10

ABILITIES

Dog Friendly: Yes
Cat Friendly: Yes
Kid Friendly: Yes

Rescue Story

Apollo and his 5 siblings came into GEARS’ care as transfers from a partner organization. After time spent in a loving foster home, he is now ready for his furever home!

My Bio

Hi! I’m Apollo! If you’re reading this, it means that my pictures have caught your eye and you probably think that I am super cute! I hear it all the time. My foster mom thinks I am just the cutest little baby. I’ve been with my foster family since I was about 8 weeks old and when I came to them I was just a rolly polly little chubby guy! I sure do love food! Foster dad jokes that I have a bigger appetite than he does! 

In my foster home, I have been trying really hard to be crate trained but it really scares me, so they are taking it slow. Right now, my foster parents feed me in my crate by dumping my kibble on my blanket. It is such a fun game to dig around my blanket and find all the food, and it makes me feel a lot more comfortable being in there. Sometimes I will even go and lay down inside of it and have a little snooze, but we still keep the door open for now. When my parents aren’t home, they put the X-pen in the kitchen. That way I don’t get super anxious in my crate, but I also don’t have free reign of the house. 

I have learned to sit, lay down, and shake a paw. On top of the crate training, I am also working so hard to “wait” when I get told I have to… but usually a treat is involved and again I LOVE FOOD, so it makes me have to work so hard. I also really love to play fetch. If you throw the ball, I will run and get it and bring it back. Sometimes I want to play tug before I give it to you, but I’m trying hard to understand that if I let it go, it means I get to go chase it again. 

I have been around cats and my experience has been pretty impartial. I have a big foster brother (about 100 lbs) and I absolutely LOVE him. I like to bring him toys so he will play with me. Sometimes it works, but sometimes I have to sit on his head or lick his ears before he will start playing. I think I would be best suited in a home with another dog. I could probably go by myself if my family is home a lot, but I really wouldn’t like being by myself all day. Do I sound like a good fit for you?

Love, Apollo 🚀❣️

READY TO ADOPT ME?

Please review our adoption process first!

Share this post!

Facebook
Twitter
Pinterest
Email

Facebook sees our adoptables first!

NOT QUITE READY TO ADOPT A DOG OR CAT?

GEARS is always looking for more temporary or long-term foster homes!

WAIT!

I know you're not ready to adopt, but I could really use a home right now.

And GEARS will cover all my veterinary costs, food and supplies!

We've got a full house!

Our foster home applications are currently on hold.

Please check back later or follow us on Facebook for updates!

DOG SHIRT SIZE CHART

Dog shirt size chart

softstyle racerback tank

softstyle t-shirt

We can issue tax receipts for cash donations equal or greater than $20! Our charity number is 822791430RR0001.

Ways to donate

By cheque:
P.O. Box 69013 Skyview
Edmonton, AB
T6V 1G7

The ATB Cares program matches donations by 15% and will issue a tax receipt on our behalf! Click here to donate through ATB Cares!
 

THANK YOU FOR YOUR SUPPORT!